Natural Health

New Food Adventures

 

All right. I’m gonna give this a try: Trim Healthy Mama!

I read the original version and then the new version about a year ago, but didn’t feel ready to start. It seemed overwhelming — too many changes . . . too much work . . . too little energy. And you know what? Day after day of feeling like a mashed potato is getting pretty old — it’s time to make some changes.

This saying has inspired me:

If you do nothing to change your direction, you are likely to end up where you are headed. (Chinese proverb)

So, where am I headed? Is it where I want to be? Where is it that I WANT to be? How do I get there?

I’m hoping that a sugar-free, (mostly) wheat-free diet full of healthy fats and energizing, good carbs will set me on the path to better health — to being the wife and mom full of energy and vitality that I really, really want to be.

So, today is Day One.

I’m not going to bore you with a list of everything I eat, every day. But, I will give you a few of my favorite recipes, and update you on my progress. For example, today for breakfast, I had this:

3 eggs fried in olive oil

Salt and pepper sprinkled on top

Salsa made of Mexican cream, avocados, roasted chiles, cilantro, onion, powdered garlic, salt and pepper

 

To drink:

Kefir milk made from raw milk, with stevia

Coffee with stevia and a little evaporated milk (I do love my cup of coffee, ha, ha)

It was super yummy! I didn’t have the tortillas or toast that I would normally have with it, but because I ate 3 eggs instead of two, I felt pretty full.

I also sipped on a full glass of water all morning containing 2 drops of Frankincense which can help support overall health. It actually tasted great: sweet and woodsy.

I’m excited to be starting this new adventure, which I hope will turn into a better lifestyle of more vibrant health. I only get one life to live, and oh, how the enemy would like to steal away my health so that I can’t have the energy or the focus to be the wife and mom I need to be. He’d like to keep me sluggish and foggy-minded, I’m sure. Maybe God has just now been able to wake me up to the truth of this matter. Maybe He has a whole life planned ahead for me, that I will only be able to walk if I’m in good health. Maybe the changes I’m making are not just about being physically healthier, but also about being totally more available for God’s service, which would have a spiritual impact, too. Does that sound weird? I don’t think it is, if you really think about it.

We are not just souls drifting ephemerally along; we are soul, spirit, mind, and body: all these things connected. It makes sense to mind how we take care of all of those areas, because each one affects all the others. And besides, the Bible says that our bodies are the temple of the Holy Spirit! Shouldn’t we take better care of them?

Medicine may not be the answer, because it seems to me that it most often takes care of only the symptoms, while it produces more problems.

Could a healthier diet along with plant-based supplements such as essential oils be a better approach?

Could it?

I think that we limit our potential for the good health I believe God wants for us if we do not allow for other possibilities apart from the medical, drug-fueled model.

Another favorite quote:

You are where you are today because of the choices you’ve made. (Flywheel movie)

 

5 thoughts on “New Food Adventures

  1. Hope you soon notice the difference,Jennifer.
    It really IS worth to make these changes.
    No need to go without wheat.Only people with gluten intolerance should do this. Just use whole wheat.
    As long as we use the foods God provides for us as natural and unprocessed as possible nothing is harmfull.
    I never go hungry but i eat (mostly) no carbohydrates for supper to keep the insulin level low at night. This helps the body to use up stored extra fat . Plus we sleep better.
    Other than that i eat a balanced natural diet with a good amount of Protein and carbohydrates and lots of veggies and fruits. i drink lots of water.
    Easy and made a lot of difference in my energy Level.
    Good luck. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Ruth!
      I’m finding out (just recently) that much of our wheat is hybridized, and does not have the benefit to us that it used to have; instead, it can cause gluten intolerance. :/
      But, I do think that it is good to have grains and some (healthy) gluten in our diets. I’m learning so slowly, it feels!
      I like your idea of not eating many carbs at night — I should try that!
      Jessica

      Like

  2. Good for you, Jessica!! I am right now getting back into Trim Healthy Mama after a long break. I really enjoy it. It takes a while to “get it,” but after that, it’s not too hard. And all of their recipes are great!! Love that most of them are large-family-friendly too. I just made their Shepherd’s Pie on Saturday.

    Thanks for sharing!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi, Diana!
      I knew (from your blog) that you had tried it during your latest pregnancy. That was part of what (finally) inspired me to just get going with THM. 🙂

      I’m only on Day 3, but I’ve noticed I don’t feel as bloated; could it be because I haven’t eaten sugar or wheat? I think the hyper/hypo glycemic swings from those two things have really affected my energy levels: feeling great in the morning but having the shakes around noon, the same thing repeating itself after lunch. I’m just tired of feeling that way, you know?

      Anyways, now that I’ve started doing this, we can share our experiences with each other — yay!
      Jessica

      Like

      1. I have learned that how I feel is 100% about what I eat!!! Yes, cutting wheat has really helped, and sugar too. I used to struggle with serious fatigue, which has gotten much better with diet improvement. Recently, I started to sense the fatigue (and shakiness, that you mention) coming back, so I have hopped back obediently into a better diet and/or supplements. Nothing like a health scare to get myself motivated!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment