My Faith Journey

And Then Somehow . . . I Stopped

It snapped me awake like the crack of a branch in the face: I hadn’t thought about IT for a very long time.

IT was my once-upon-a-time-life.

The life that was like a nightmare, a whirling madness of anxiety and despair. In this story, I was constantly Unsettled. Desperate. Hurt.

Why is it that what pains us the most is what we choose to dwell on the most, again and again, like a dog returning to its vomit? I’d thought about IT every day, several times a day–for years. I couldn’t let it go. And then somehow . . . I stopped.

The power of IT had been weakened. I’d grown beyond it’s reach. Imperceptibly, I’d left it behind like a rain cloud dumps its heavy cargo. I felt I could lift off into the sky and float away on a breeze.

How had it happened? I had been chained to this pattern for so long, it seemed a part of me. Of course, it was a part of me I didn’t like, didn’t want–hated, actually. But it was me, nonetheless. Or was it? I didn’t realize how much it wasn’t, until it was gone; then I saw the me that God had known all along: the Me that He had been guiding and forming, nurturing and transforming–the malleable creature inside.

I am not a slave of my failures–I am a possibility in the hands of an Artist. I am not confined or defined by my past; the past cannot move, but I can.

IT controlled me for the longest time–and then it didn’t. I felt Heaven’s warmth embrace my heart and I knew: Jesus wants me and He loves me. I had known it intellectually, but I hadn’t really believed it. It was a new feeling, kind of like a gentle squeeze around my heart, an affectionate hug. It said, “I am looking forward to your seeing Me face-to-face one day very soon! I’m so excited for that day, I can hardly wait. I love you so much! I made you because it pleased me to do so. I’m so proud of who you are–who I created You to be! You’re not yet everything I mean for you to become; just wait and see all that I have planned for you. Your deep heart and your passions and your tenderness: they bring delight to My heart. I love you so much, you can’t even begin to understand the depth of it.”

Jesus is Life that flows through dried-up streambeds and Love that holds pieces shattered, together.

It is through Him that the IT of my life laid down and died and gave place to JOY and true PURPOSE.

 

 

Leave a Reply

