A Heavenly Hearth: Homekeeping from the Heart

The Ugly Pattern We Need to Avoid — But Don’t

 

How often do we stand in the way of our own success?
Are we our own greatest obstacle?
Do we make excuses instead of seek solutions?

How often do we “suffer” under a self-imposed destitution?
Can we tell the difference between a self-inflicted condition and a God-ordained test?

This is just one example out of many possible scenarios: People tell me all the time once they find out how many children I have, “Oh, I could never have that many.”
Really? I want to tell them. How do you know? Have you ever tried? And if for some reason you aren’t able to handle your one or two or three children you already have, is it possible that your inability and inadequacy has something to do with the fact that you’re just not willing to put the necessary work into it to do any better? And when it’s not easy (as I can testify to personally) do you just give up in defeat?

Like I said, that is just one scenario out of many, but I think it illustrates my point: we are a bunch of GIVER-UPPERS! Myself included!

But we don’t have to be.

I believe there are two truths that we as Christians must grasp, and they are these:
Godliness with contentment is great gain (1 Tim. 6:6); and, I can do ALL things through Christ Who strengthens me (Phil. 4:13).

Whatever circumstance we currently find ourselves in, we need to ask God to help us see the good in it; we need to be joyful and at peace and learn whatever it is that God wants us to learn.

That doesn’t mean we have to stay there, though.

If we don’t like where we are, what’s stopping us from plunging forward in FAITH–with Christ’s help–to get to where it is that we DO want to be?

I’ll tell you what it is:
Our EXCUSES.

This isn’t really a detour from my promised post on how I keep our little house organized with eight people: it’s actually an introduction. There have been many times, especially when we first moved in, when I have whined and complained and had a pity party. And this is something that I’ve had to learn: maybe part of this is God’s will for me, so I can learn contentment; and, maybe part of this is God’s will for me in another way, so I can learn to stop whining and start DOING.

I am doing my best to make the most of our circumstances (as you will see in my upcoming article!), but is it to be this way forever? I think that I’ve finally come to the point to where I am able to accept that if it were God’s will, I would be able to live with it–happily. But, if there were a way to improve upon things, I am ready to find out how. And I think I’ve already found the answer!

Next post: Homekeeping tips for tiny houses

and

Ways to stretch (and increase?) the family income.

8 thoughts on “The Ugly Pattern We Need to Avoid — But Don’t

  1. “Whatever circumstance we currently find ourselves in, we need to ask God to help us see the good in it; we need to be joyful and at peace and learn whatever it is that God wants us to learn.”

    Loved this quote, and this post!! Can’t wait to read your upcoming posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes,God puts us where we have to be by His reasons.
    One of the reasons is for our training,I think.Looking foward to your next article about homekeeping tips.I’m still seeking how I should be as a homemaker in my faith journey,too.

    Like

    1. Yes, Sanae, I think that we ALL are continually seeking how we should be as homemakers! We can all relate to each other in this area, I think.
      I agree with your statement that “God puts us where we have to be by His reasons. One of the reasons is for our training.” Yes!
      Jessica

      Like

Leave a Reply

