A Heavenly Hearth: Homekeeping from the Heart

Transformational Books!

Image result for pictures of books on shelf

There are books which are “nice,” and then there are books which are life-changing. Let me introduce a few that have impacted my own life, and which I think might do so for yours, too. These books cover topics that I often write about on my blog.

 

Headcovering:

book cover

Just released in November of 2016, Head Covering: The Book is close to everything on headcovering in one place. It is thorough, it is biblical, and it is convincing. Jeremy Gardiner does a great job of presenting a positive case for headcovering in an easy-to-understand manner while doing the topic the justice it deserves; near the end, he also addresses some of the most common objections. This is not another pamphlet on headcovering; this is an actual full-length book. It’s the first of its kind, as far as I can tell, and I’m really excited. I have read several pamphlets and short books, all of which have been good; but having a more-in depth treatment of the topic is so helpful. To read headcovering testimonies and articles, watch videos, or listen to sermons, go to the Head Covering Movement site. If you’re on the fence about this, or even if you’re a veteran head-coverer, I strongly recommend this book!

Being a godly wife, mother, and homemaker:

Created to be His Help Meet. This is another “I love it” book! Yes, there are a few points I disagree with (which I may tackle in future posts). However, the overall message is, I believe, right on with what the Bible teaches about wives being helpers for their husbands (not the other way around). The author, Debi Pearl, is blunt and doesn’t mess around; she drives the point straight home, which is what most of us probably need. Feminism has done its damage, proving it doesn’t really work if we want to have happy marriages and families. However, for those of us who want a truly heavenly marriage, we need to do things the way our Creator says we need to do things; He should know, He made us. You can buy it on Amazon, or go directly to Michael and Debi Pearl’s website, No Greater Joy, to order.

Parenting God’s way:

Another great book from No Greater Joy written by Michael and Debi Pearl; To Train Up a Child challenged my views on child raising. The main point of the book is that training and disciplining are two different (though related) things: if we train our children the right way, we won’t need to discipline them; and if it is ever necessary to discipline them, if done in a consistent manner, we won’t need to do it often. Clear boundaries and consistent consequences are important if we want our children to be happy and well adjusted. Just as important is keeping heart-strings tied; children need our love just as much as they need our training. I didn’t regret buying this book; in fact, I plan on re-reading it many more times. It helped me see more clearly than ever the need for consistency in my parenting, and that if my children have trouble with self-control, it is often the result of poor child training on my end; however, children flourish with clearly defined boundaries, and consequences that remain the same, every time. Order from their website, or from Amazon. I don’t agree with them in every particular (for example: potty training babies several months old), but I did benefit from the general principles set forth in the book.

The blessing of children (leaving family planning in God’s hands):

I’ve read several books against birth control, but so far, this one by Nancy Campbell is my favorite:

Be Fruitful and Multiply was one of those books that literally changed my life! You will find Bible verses in abundance that support the view that children are blessings to be received with openness and thanksgiving, not burdens or “responsibilities” to be controlled by family planning methods. I don’t know how anyone with an open mind and a soft heart toward the things of God could read this book, look up the Bible verses for themselves, and still think birth control is fine. One thing that was great about this book was its positive and gentle approach. Instead of saying “don’t use birth control,” the author presents a positive case for a life without birth control by emphasizing, “accept the blessing of children.” If I could recommend one book more than any other, it would be this one. Though it’s not uncommon for churches to teach on biblical roles and parenting, it’s not as likely that they will teach on this subject, though it’s in the Bible. Therefore, it’s all the more important for individuals to educate themselves on what their churches are probably not teaching. Buy it from the Above Rubies website, or on Amazon. 

Modesty:

Finally, I suggest this informative book by Jeff Pollard: Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America. Do you know the history of how our society went from dressing in modest attire that covered the whole body to accepting tank tops and mini skirts? It has much to do with the swimsuit industry. More and more skin became acceptable for everyday wear because the boundaries were already being drastically pushed by worldly fashion designers for swimwear. This book gives a short review of that change, and defines what “modest” actually is, from the Bible. Another life-altering book! Order from Amazon.

~~~~

If you have read these books, I would love to discuss what you thought about them! Please do share! If you have any other book suggestions, please let me know. Thanks!

~Jessica

13 thoughts on “Transformational Books!

  1. Hi Jessica!
    Good choice of books. I’ve read them all except Jeremy’s book and Christian Modesty. I remember when Be Fruitful and Multiply was called I believe “God’s Plan for Families” or something like that. It was a big workbook and I loved it. Have you and your family been to an Above Rubies retreat before?
    I wish I still had my Created to Be His Helpmeet book. Mine got left in CA 😦

    Like

    1. Thanks, Regina!
      So glad to hear that you like some of the same books I do!
      No, I haven’t been to an Above Rubies retreat; have you? If so, please tell me what it was like.
      I’ve read your latest posts, and I really liked them! I hope to comment on some of them later.
      Jessica

      Like

  2. I have only read ‘To Train Up A Child’ and i liked the message. I d love to read the
    ‘Helpmeet’ book and also the head covering book. I dont really like to order off the internet and overseas for the taxes but you encouraged me to do it anyways.
    For the child training book, what stuck with me the most was the immediate obedience requirance. I was priding myself that the kids would listen after 1-2-3…but i got challenged to train them to just listen after the first call. A very valluable book we found.
    Of course we might disagree at some points
    and there is also a bit of a culture gap but still, i like that book.
    For more books like the recommended ones you might want to check out anabantist/mennonite publications. These are usually very wholesome and well written but not very commonly known.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Ruth!
      The immediate obedience thing is something we’re working on, too. And I agree that it’s good if we don’t pride ourselves on anything; if I get to the point where I think my children are doing excellent, something usually happens, like they have a bad attitude one day, and then I realize that I need to just be happy when things are going well but not allow myself to get too confident.

      About the Anabaptist/Mennonite publications you mentioned: are there any specific books from them you would recommend, or any particular publishing company?

      Thank you!
      Jessica

      Like

  3. Excellent list!

    “Created to Be” is my favorite marriage book. Not perfect, but definitely my favorite.

    I haven’t yet read “To Train Up a Child.” I’ve been intimidated by the fact that while half of my friends love it, the other half hate it and are busy burning it in their backyards. 🙂 I’m glad to have your recommendation, and I’ll hope to pick up a copy sometime soon.

    I also haven’t yet read the headcovering book yet. I want to! I know it’s got to be great. Just being lazy because I don’t want to spend the money. 🙂

    I have read “Be Fruitful and Multiply,” but I don’t remember much of it because I read a bunch of books on the same topic at the same time. However, that reading was some of the most enlightening I’ve ever gone through, and very convicting. I think Mary Pride’s “The Way Home” has similar material. I’d like to go through BFAM again some time.

    I haven’t read the modesty book, but it sounds fascinating!

    Thank you for sharing!
    Love,
    Diana

    Like

    1. Hi Diana!
      I can relate to your friends’ feelings about To Train Up a Child. When I read it I sometimes felt like a complete failure as a parent. But then at other times, I felt really excited to see that there is hope for me to be able to train my children to be obedient and respectful; I must simply be consistent. In the end, I decided that it’s okay to have my own style; my circumstances are not exactly the same as the Pearl’s were when they were raising their children, so there is room for individuality in my parenting. However, they do have some great insights, which I think can be helpful for anybody, no matter one’s background.

      Thanks for your comments on the other books I listed; if you ever read any other good books on those topics, please let me know!

      Jessica

      Like

      1. Hi, Jessica!

        It came to mind after I commented that I did have one book to add to this list, and it’s a funny one since it’s not even Christian – but for me, it was transformational – “The Surrendered Wife” by Laura Doyle. As I said, it’s not Christian, but the author writes some of the best material I’ve read on what a wife’s Christian submission should be. She found that it worked, completely outside of any Christian teaching! I haven’t read the book in years, but it changed my life when I did. I grew up in a rather matriarchal household, and also in an apostate liberal church that would never have dreamed of teaching submission, so it was the first time that I’d run across the topic – and it helped me to gain some hope that there might be an escape from the circle of husband-wife negativity. If you ever run across it, let me know what you think! (As always, there are some parts to ignore.)

        Diana

        Like

      2. Okay, thanks Diana–I will definitely look that book up!

        I grew up in a rather “matriarchal” household, too. I find that being a submissive wife works much better. I’m having to shed some false ideas I had grown up with, which is a bit painful at times, since my bad habits are sometimes more ingrained than I had realized. But change is possible, as I’m finding out; and the good results of being a submissive wife only make me want to keep going.
        Jessica

        Like

  4. You might want to check out the websites of ‘christian light publications’ and ‘milestone books’ for example. They also send catalogues. There are more companies but i have to look them up first☺
    I love their books and wish we could move back to North America just for that😄

    Like

  5. Hi Jessica

    Not one of my usual style of reads, but thinking about, this book has transformed how I think about desires in general, and how God can be trusted…we don’t need to turn away every desire as evil or self-centered…!

    It is A Million Little Ways: Uncover The Art You Were Made To Live, Emily Freeman. I don’t know her theology exactly, but the book really spoke to me and helped take away some unGodly burdens about what it was OK to delight in and care about etc.

    Lots of other books I love, but I thought this one may be of interest to other ladies.

    Jacqueline

    Like

Leave a Reply

