Modesty

On Blogging and Makeup

wild-flowers

I’ve only been blogging for about two years, but I feel that I’ve grown in that time. There are several ways I think it has helped me, and several ways I think it has threatened me, in a sense.

Blogging has been a chance to release my mental and emotional energy. It isn’t always possible or convenient to let loose my thoughts on those around me. Courtesy, decorum, and time all put limits on what can and can’t be said. But with blogging, those restraints are (mostly) eliminated.

At the same time blogging has been a help to me, it has also been a danger. How much do I say? How much do strangers really need to know about me? Is it prudent to share (some of) my inner struggles with the public? There is a tendency to be too open. With the computer screen as my only companion, it is easy to feel comfortable and in control.

And yet, the very fact that the computer screen is my only companion serves to indicate why I take this uncertain risk: I wish to not be isolated from the world. If there were greater possibilities for friendship within my regular, local experience, I might not feel so compelled to search further. However, as I said before, there are restraints.

It is not easy to find other women who believe in headcovering, or in a skirts-and-dresses-only lifestyle, or in leaving all family planning in God’s hands! In order to find those women, in order to get the support and encouragement I long for–need, even–it is almost essential that I venture out.

Not content to only comment on other’s blogs (though I do love to do so!), I decided to start one of my own, where I could say whatever I wanted. Almost. I believe that it is always, no matter what venue one uses for communication, important to be cautious. Blogging offers freedom to speak our thoughts out loud, in a context that encourages self-expression, but people’s feelings can still be hurt, and I don’t want to do that.

How can I say what I believe and say it clearly, without getting caught in the trap that I try to avoid in everyday life, the trap of only wanting to say what I think while not caring about what others think or if it hurts them? This one has been hard. I think this has been the biggest area of growth for me, and I’ve barely started.

As I’ve been looking back over past posts, I realize that the posts I like the least are the ones where I’m telling people what to think; the posts I like the best are the ones where I’m telling people what I think, and why, while letting them be the ones to decide what they will do with their own lives. I almost feel like deleting most of my articles, but then, there are some that I really like, so I guess I’ll just have to take the time to continue to edit them.

This has been a rewarding journey for me, and I look forward to writing more, while improving my style and technique. So, to get started right away, here are some thoughts I’ve been having recently about makeup. The following example illustrates what I consider to be faulty reasoning, and ties in nicely to the makeup issue.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been informed by certain visitors to my doorstep that we shouldn’t celebrate birthdays because it’s something that God doesn’t tell us to do, and because King Herod had a birthday party, but he was wicked, so we shouldn’t imitate him by having birthday parties. I understand the reasoning, but I don’t see the logic. God may not tell us that celebrating birthdays is something we should do, but it isn’t something He forbids us from doing, either. I see it as neutral; it’s the way we celebrate them that counts. So, getting drunk and having people killed is not the way to do it; but, having cake and ice cream can’t be so terrible, can it?

I feel similarly about makeup. Queen Jezebel may have painted her eyes, and she was wicked, but does that make all makeup bad? Same as with birthdays, I think makeup is neutral; it’s the way we put it on that counts.

In my own personal journey, I went about two straight years wearing no makeup at all. Why? I wanted to accept my body the way God made it, and I hoped that others would do the same. Why try to hide or fix myself, if God made me that way on purpose? Is it because I am ashamed of my appearance, or unhappy with it? If not (I reasoned), then I shouldn’t cover it up with makeup; I shouldn’t try to be something that I’m not. But then, my husband actually requested that I put some on.

That changed things for me. He didn’t want much, just a little eye shadow and liner, a little mascara from time to time. Was it because I wasn’t enough on my own?

Now, I don’t believe that was the case at all. When I first met my husband, I wore makeup all the time. Maybe he got used to that face, and when I stopped wearing makeup he started to miss it; it was the “me” he knew when he fell in love with me. Perhaps my eyelashes are a bit light, and my complexion a bit pale, normally. Could it hurt to “help my face out” a little? To “enhance my natural beauty,” as they say?

I’ve started to accept the idea of a little beautifying, for my husband’s sake. Because I know that he does accept me for who I am, and I feel secure in that; but, doesn’t he also deserve that I try my best to look gorgeous just for him? Not extravagantly. Just intentionally.

What about you? What’s your makeup journey been like?

54 thoughts on “On Blogging and Makeup

  1. I don’t think it is ever wrong to try and look your best provided that you don’t do anything that your husband doesn’t approve of, that you dress modestly, that it is not motivated by wanting other men to notice you in the wrong way and that you honour Gods design for you as a woman.

    Like

  2. One of the girls here on her own blog makes the point that her husband prefers her to wear dresses rather than blouses and skirts because the latter draws too much attention to her bust. That is his opinion and rightly she obeys but it shows there is a spectrum even among very religious women.

    Like

    1. Yes, there is definitely variance in opinion on such points. What my husband expects may be different than what other ladies’ husbands expect. Each woman must do what her own husband wants, as long as it is within biblical parameters.

      Like

      1. I think that is right in that firstly the only man we should ever be trying to woo is our husband. Secondly in terms of modesty especially they do tend to understand what other men look at and finally I think one way our husbands express their love and respect for us as Christian wives is to want us to save ourselves absolutely for them.

        Like

      2. Absolutely agree!
        Sadly, it seems to me that some women try to make other men jealous (jealous that she has already been taken by another man, and regretful that he–the man–married an “ugly” wife by comparison); have you ever noticed that? They wear so MUCH makeup, tight clothes, high heels, bling . . . and why? I wonder if they are not so much interested in being beautiful for their own husbands, but are flaunting themselves in front of other men, for the sake of their vanity. And that is something we women need to avoid. Our husbands, as you point out, need to be our number one priority (as far as human relationships are concerned), and we need to analyze our motives for why we present ourselves the way we do.
        Jessica

        Like

    1. Irina, I believe you asked me that before and I feel so embarrassed that I didn’t get back to you right away! Sorry for the long delay.
      Actually, I’ve been thinking about the hair-dying issue more than usual lately. At this point, I think it’s okay. I personally do not dye my hair because I like my hair the way it is. But, if I did want to dye it, would that be wrong? I don’t see anything in the Bible against it. However, we must make sure to be modest and discreet, as God says He wants us to be. We must also make sure to be thankful for the way He created us. This is sometimes the reason why women change their appearance, because they are unhappy with the way God made them, and we must avoid that. But other women just want to try something new and fun, and I think that’s fine. What do you think?
      Jessica

      Like

  3. Dear Jessica

    Thank you so much for sharing with us about your thought on blogging. As your fellow blogger, I’ve been thinking about these issues myself and I’ve got encouraged to read your positive attitude and thoughts.

    In regards to make-up and modest dress, the Lord taught me some precious lessons here in Thessalonica. This church is a headcovering, complementarian pentecostal church, where women are expected to wear modestly and discreetly. I observed that elder women are like me-no makeup and dresses. However, there occurred series of problems in this denomination that some sincere teachers and preachers went to the extreme and became highly legalistic about these issues.

    So, after much disputes, some of them started to refrain from preaching the modest dress issues. And so…Yes, when I see the youths, I see the obvious “results” of this new policy of this denomination. Most young girls wear “immodestly.”

    However, the Lord gave me some new thoughts (more compassionate heart) about this phenomenon. Is it a “compromise” of this church? Maybe…and maybe not.

    I myself will not join this church but at the same time, I respect their serious attitude toward this issue. I also see that so called “immodest dressed” sisters are used by Him for encouraging other young girls. I see His mercy. Now these sisters might not be able to see some points which we are seeing (and some other areas maybe vice versa ),
    but He graciously allows them to be like this.

    May we all grow in faith and sanctification day by day!!

    Kinuko from Thessalonica

    Like

    1. So glad to hear from you in Thessalonica, Kinuko!
      Yes, that is an area where it can be hard to tell what is best: to preach on modesty with the risk of becoming too strict, or to not preach on it with the risk of becoming too lenient. I struggle with that question myself. In my own church, there is no teaching on modesty, and I often wish there was. But then, sometimes I consider that if they were to start teaching on it, there would at the same time surface a barrage of other concerns: What is modest? (could they all agree on a standard?) Should they limit themselves to simply teaching on it, or should they actually require changes? What about a dress code for the volunteers? etc. Perhaps their way of doing it (leaving it up to our personal election) is the best approach. I don’t know.
      Thanks for your comment!
      Jessica

      Like

  4. Like this post a lot. For me I just wear a little mascara. It is probably the same with jewellery. To my mind comes the verse in 1.Peter 3,3-5.Maybe God wants us more to be aware that we put him first and ‘work’on our ‘inner beauty’. But after that we are also called to keep our bodies a temple for the holy spirit and temples are beautifull,right. Could we maybe say it is ok to adorne oneself aslong it does not concurrence our inner person? Not quite trough with this but i must say that the most beautyful women i met where shining from the inside . ☀

    Like

    1. Yes, the inside is the most important!
      At this point I, like you, think adornment is okay, but only as long as it is not extreme. It must be an extension of ourselves rather than a distraction from our true selves.

      Like

  5. Personally I don’t think there is anything wrong with dying hair to it’s natural colour but I do think it’s wrong to change that colour radically.

    In the same way I would not regard plastic surgery to correct an injury as wrong, but for example breast enhancement clearly is.

    Like

    1. Of course, breast enhancement involves surgically altering the body, while dying hair does not. Hair grows back, but bodies parts do not: once something is damaged by surgery, it is almost impossible to undo, at least not without high risks and complications, sometimes.
      Also, there are different types of hair dying: some dyes are temporary, while some are permanent (though none of it is really permanent, since new hair grows all the time, and the old hair is gradually lost); sometimes all the hair is dyed, while at other times only a portion is dyed (perhaps the tips, or the bottom layer, or highlighted streaks); and as you point out, some dyes color the hair a completely different color than what that person naturally has, while other dyes keep more in tune with the person’s natural coloring. All considerations.
      It seems to me that in any issue where we have questions, the main concerns are 1)what the Bible says, and 2)what the Bible extends to us as a guiding principle, if there is a lack of explicit information. I think the guiding principle here, is what one’s husband wants, and whether something can be considered modest and discreet.
      Jessica

      Like

  6. I. love this blog because I can identify with women who think alike.
    I used to wear make up but for three years now I stopped using make up because i believe God wants us to love the way HE made us since HE doesn’t make mistakes.

    Like

    1. Yes, I believe as you do, that God doesn’t make mistakes. It is good to accept ourselves the way God made us–absolutely!
      I think that once a woman is married, though, she should submit to her husband’s desires, as long as they are in biblical boundaries. So, sometimes our ideal must be sacrificed, and we must make a compromise, in order to please our husbands.
      Thank you for your comment!
      Jessica

      Like

      1. I agree. As with so many aspects of submission I can imagine it must be very difficult for women who’s husbands do not share their commitment to Biblical principles – especially in this context modesty.

        Like

      2. In my own personal experience, my husband has been very supportive of modest dressing and headcovering. He did not introduce those things to me, but he did support me in them.
        As for makeup, he does not ask for a full makeover, only a little delineation of features. And that, not even all the time, but only occasionally. Actually, I still don’t wear makeup most of the time. But, if we are going out on a “date,” or even just because I feel like it one day, I will add a little liner and eye shadow, and maybe a little lip gloss.
        But, yes, I understand you completely. There is sometimes a tension which arises when we feel strongly a certain way, but our husbands do not; the only biblical way to resolve that tension (within biblical boundaries) is to submit to one’s husband. In the end, this creates a more peaceful home and promotes a closer relationship.
        Jessica

        Like

      3. I agree. I don’t think that there can be any doubt that a surgical enhancement intended purely to make the body stimulate purely sexual feelings (unrelated to any actual purpose in terms of procreation) such as breast enlargement is entirely sinful.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s also very difficult for unmarried girls whose parents do not give them the firm guidance they should have on what is acceptable and Godly.

    Like

  8. I suspect our husband’s take very similar views. Mine is also very supportive and indeed insists on modest dress and I’m about the same on makeup – very discrete for occasions only.

    For Mass I wear simple modest dresses, no makeup and no jewellery (accept my wedding ring).

    Like

    1. Yes, I am also very discreet about jewelry. I almost never wear it, except for my ring. What I do have are a few simple pieces I save for special occasions.
      I have sometimes worn makeup to church, but don’t feel comfortable putting on too much.

      Like

      1. As you know I wear a traditional mantilla style veil for Mass so jewellery or makeup just wouldn’t be appropriate.

        Like

  9. Thank you for sharing your background about blogging, your thought on making up.Jessica,I always am impressed by your constant effort for sharing with other ladies,seeking what you can do at home.

    Making up and modesty can be one of most sensitive topic for christian ladies.I also think that husband’s agreement,understanding and his wish are important.

    Like

    1. I think modesty is only a sensitive issue because our personal vanity and the vanity and sinful rejection of Biblical principles which is feminism combine to argue that as women and girls we do not have a responsibility to dress modestly.

      Like

  10. Another issue is that part of modesty is dressing appropriately so as not to stand out or make others uncomfortable, which is difficult in a society where women as a rule dress so immodestly and do not always look feminine.

    Both my husband and I would prefer that I wore much plainer and more modest styles of dress but in everyday life it would (like the dress of Moslem women) stand out too much.

    Like

  11. I’ve heard and read many different opinions on topics like this. They start by ‘the bible absolutely forbids jewellery and such(wedding ring included)’ , to leaving the decision entirely up to a persons own decision quoting different passages of the bible where exclusivly adorned women are portraied. Relating to how many commemts you got on this post, i gueß most of us think of our appearance at least once in a while😉. Interesting discusion but now i will put my phone aside and go do my devotion. Love to all you dear ladies

    Like

  12. I think a little makeup is okay. It should look natural though. I try to stay away from bright colors. I have to admit though, I am a huge fan of all things sparkly. I always have been. So, it has been hard to refrain from that since I became a Christian. No more glitter shadow, heals and clothes. I am also a big fan of braided hairstyles and I have been struggling with whether its okay to do that. My husband and I actually follow the tradition of married women wearing their hair up in public, so I like to at least try and make it pretty with different braided styles, but after reading 1 Peter 3 I am not sure if that’s okay.

    Jessica, I was wondering since you mentioned submitting to your husband’s wishes, what would you have done if your husband was uncomfortable with covering? This has been an issue I have been facing for a long time. I have gone back and forth because my husband is a little uncomfortable with it. He doesn’t tell me I can’t, but he doesn’t really like it either. I feel convicted that it is biblical, but since it is symbolic of my submission to him, it seems wrong to do it if it make him uncomfortable. Any suggestions?

    Like

    1. Hi, Corinna! I enjoyed reading about your own makeup and jewelry experience.

      Regarding your question about covering if one’s husband is uncomfortable:
      I would suggest that you ask him straight out why he is uncomfortable. Ask him what his opinion is, and make sure he knows that you won’t get offended with him if you don’t agree with it or like his answer.

      Is it that he doesn’t agree with your interpretation of the text? Is he on the fence about this because he’s unsure? You might say that you really want to understand this, and you don’t want to do something he doesn’t approve of, so maybe you could both study it together? Let him know that you are willing to submit to whatever decision he comes to.

      Is his discomfort associated more with the way that your headcoverings look? Maybe show him several different styles, and ask which ones he likes. Perhaps he simply doesn’t want you to look like you come from a different religion, or like you have been transported from the 1800s, or whatever it may be. You could try a more “modern” look, and that might be all you need.

      Whatever the case, if after addressing this issue with your husband he continues to feel uncomfortable (and enough time has passed for you to know it isn’t just that it is new and something he needs time to get used to), I would recommend that you be sensitive to his feelings. Stop covering, at least in public. He may be okay with you covering at home during your personal Bible reading and prayer. Ask him.

      And know that things can change. After more time has passed, he may feel differently. Pray for him, and pray for you. Trust God that He can work in you both.

      Hope that helps! Feel free to share any further thoughts or questions with me.
      Jessica

      Like

      1. Hi Jessica, thank you for the quick response! After reading your post yesterday I decided to take your advice and I talked to my husband about it last night. Initally the problem was more about feeling uncomfortable. At one point I was trying out an infinity scarf and a friend of his said I looked like a member of ISIS. So, he wasn’t too happy with that type of comment or how it seemed to send the wrong message about who we are and who we serve. He also just felt embarrased by the comment.

        A while back I had asked him what his thoughts were on 1 Cor 11:2-16 and he said he wasn’t very familiar with it. I did express that I was feeling convicted to study it, and wanted his opinion, but it wasn’t a topic he seemed interested in pursuing and so I didn’t push him. We sat down together last night though and studied it together. My DH is very into studying the original Greek, and so we spent a lot of time on that, and happily after a thourough study he determined that it IS biblical for me to cover! Basically in Church, during group Bible study and formal prayer! He didn’t think it was neccesary at all times, like when I am praying informally (as in quick spur of the moment chats with God). Although he did think it prudent to have a covering with me at all times just in case.

        I feel very blessed that he has come to agree with me on this, and I would like to thank you for your encouragment and advice! This has been truly weighing on my mind for over a year!

        God Bless,
        Corinna

        Like

  13. Not a makeup -but a head covering question:How would you inerpret following bible passage Jessica? Matthew 6,5-6? I’ve been reading trough sermon on the mount lately and this really struck me:Since Jesus actually want us to pray at home rather than in public would you think that we maybe have overinterpreted 1.Kor.11 a bit and therefore the covering issue rather applies for the home prayer time? To my mind came also that the first christians often met in their homes in smaller groups either. You know for me it would make the covering easier as it would be more between Jesus and me than a ‘public display’ as what it feels sometimes. I admire your biblical reasoning in your post and look forward to your opinion if you find the time. love Ruth

    Like

    1. Thanks for your question, Ruth!
      I think that what Jesus is referring to is an intentional chest-thumping sort of prayer. So, the Pharisees make their robes extra long. Long isn’t good enough; they must make them longer than other people’s. They make their phylacteries extra large. Just to have one isn’t good enough; they must make them bigger than everybody else’s. They must announce their good deeds with trumpets. They must make extra long prayers. They must stand intentionally in front of crowds when they pray so that people will see them.

      This is not the same as headcovering! At least not in the simple way that most ladies I have seen do it. We are obeying God, and whether it makes us stand out or not, we are obliged to do so. The headcovering is for ANY and ALL times we are praying or prophesying (with the exception, maybe, of private prayer which we do in our own hearts), so we MUST wear it to church and Bible studies, too.

      What would be the sin, for us, then?
      It would be to wear an exceptionally fancy covering just so people would notice it. We must avoid that and do our best to obey God by covering in a humble manner. Yes, other people will see that we’re different, that’s unavoidable. But, at least we are not trying to intentionally draw attention to ourselves.

      Hope that helps! Any further thoughts? I’d love to hear them!
      Jessica

      Like

      1. Ruth, another thing I just thought of:
        Do you wear a wedding ring? If so, do you wear it to draw attention to yourself, or to the fact that you are married? Similarly, by wearing a headcovering, are you trying to draw attention to yourself, or to the fact that you are under authority?

        Some women pick out the biggest diamond ring they can afford, while others choose a modest gold ring with a small stud. And some women pick out headcoverings with loud colors and lots of fringe, while others choose simple cotton with white lace trim. There’s a difference, I think.

        What’s your perspective on this?
        Jessica

        Like

  14. I think i came to a similar conclusion on this. i wear a wide headband and do this most all the time during my days.
    It worked well for me and is not too off top i think but yet a difference to ladies wearing no head covering ,but thats just how it is.
    I cant refuse to obey the Lord on this as he really highlighted this to me since a few years and continues to do so, even if i’m tempted to stop.
    One thing i feel strongly is that i want to cover especially in personal quiet prayer time because thats when my prayers are the most ‘sincere’.
    And during this last ‘set of study’ also regarding to above mentioned question i realized that i definitely need to spend MORE time in actually – praying than i do currently. After all , what good is it to wear constantly a headcovering so that i could pray, if i dont take the time to actually do it? Whitout ceasing , Paul says..
    Thanks for your thoughts.
    Love Ruth

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Ruth!
      Prayer can at times be private, but what about prophesy? It seems to me that prophesying is something we do when others are present, for their benefit. So, that forms another reason why headcovering is also for public use.
      Jessica

      Like

  15. My experience on this might help. Before I married I hadn’t even thought of covering, but we are Catholics and my husband very much wanted me to follow the Catholic tradition of covering for Mass. I resisted for some years (out of vanity and fear of being the only one in our congregation – true at that time). Finally he insisted that I obey his wishes which I did. As so often in life I then realised how wrong I had been !

    I now cover for Mass and all other devotions including prayer at home and in obedience to my husband that does mean a traditional style mantilla which covers my hair completely.

    Covering for prayer lead me to the belief that I should cover at all times, which is not a ‘normal’ Catholic practice and as such my husband was against it at first, but at my request he discussed it with our Priest and ultimately agreed to it as long as I wear something modern, inconspicuous and ‘none religious’ which I do. Interestingly after a year or so of this he has a definite preference for a more conservative and more ‘covered’ style of covering. So at home etc as with my dress I am much plainer and conservative in terms of covering and (for example) dress length / design than generally in public.

    Like

    1. It is so good when we can talk things over with a fatihfull husband. Im really glad for having a christian husband and just a couple days ago i also told him so. It makes submitting so much easier i believe

      Like

      1. I completely agree, but that is because a) I agree with my husband’s take on what the Bible expects of me and b) I believe that whatever my opinions I should submit to him. If you did not take that view I imagine it would be very challenging.

        For example at my (then future) husband’s request I stopped wearing trousers (pants) when I got engaged and I follow a very modest path in dress, both of which I agree with, but which many many women would object to both in terms of the actual requirements and the principle that I do so in part to obey my husband.

        Like

  16. Another thought on this: I personally really do not like to stick out therefore i chose to wear a covering that is very’low profile’ but still serves the purpose. But that fear of sticking out might also be pride and the desire to still belong to the crowd while doing the right thing. The reading i did on the sermon on the mount newly showed me that Jesus ALWAYS looks behind the fasssde he wants my heart, totally. Anything i do after that needs to happen out of love.
    About the pride issue: After having all those babys and doing all that carrying and lifting i needed to do something for my back as it was often hurting. So i figired i need to build up a good muscle corset. I looked up some basic workouts and started. And it was fun, and it really helps. I have been adding more and more to the training, legs, tummy, arms heatlier diet… and i just love how i look and feel now. Better than i did at 20 thats for sure.Having acomplished such nice results really makes me a bit proud and i tell you honestly i am quite tempted to show it off just a little. It makes me aware that there is so often in life a narrow ridge we have to walk trying not to slip out either way.
    Headcovering, make up,jewellery,clothes,fitneß,money…everything can become a false idol and i notice that it can happen almost unintentiomally but maybe put of a little bit of pride im still holding on too. Jesus must always be first.

    Like

  17. I think it’s reasonable not to want to ‘stand out’ and can even be argued as an aspect of modesty. But not (of course) to the extend of behaving in a way which goes against your convictions on what the Bible expects of us. Also as we have observed there are ways of both fitting in and following conviction. An example for me being wearing my hair long, and wearing a non-conspicuous covering.

    Like

  18. I believe that whatever you do, do it for the glory of God. If a bright scarf is you celebrating your Lord, why not? If some eye make means you want to be the feminine woman the Lord created you to be, to look like you believe that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost and you take time over preparing that as well as your spirit etc, why not? If we look like we have dressed with joy and to look like a woman we are pleased the Lord has made, why not? Assuming it is not immodest and we have the motive to glorify God with our appearance. I don’t think we should hide away our femininity but rather reflect our pleasure in our Lord by how we look after our appearance. The joy of the Lord is our strength and I think how we prepare ourselves physically (including our weight) should reflect this.

    Like

    1. Jacqueline,
      You make some good points! Thank you for adding your thoughts!

      Yes, I agree that it is okay (and good) to be joyful and colorful and beautiful. We don’t have to wear brown and dress in shapeless sacks.

      Your comment has led me to the following thought: it seems to me that there is a balance which we much work to achieve; we must not be pretentious, superficial, or excessive; but, neither do we need to be drab and boring.

      As Christian women who want to live life as the Lord wishes, we have the freedom to be ourselves, as long as it fits with God’s criteria.

      1 Timothy 2:9 “I also want the women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, adorning themselves, not with elaborate hairstyles or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, 10 but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God.” (NIV)

      So, we must strive to be:
      modest
      decent
      proper
      not with elaborate hairstyles
      not with gold or pearls
      not with expensive clothes
      with good deeds

      So, we can have fun and be pretty, as long as we meet that criteria. What a blessing that within those biblical parameters there is still a whole range of exciting and satisfying options available to all our different personalities!

      And I completely agree with your assertion that we should do all to glorify God, and take pleasure in the way He has made us. Yes!
      Jessica

      Like

  19. I wear makeup everyday, and I’m very unconfident to not wear makeup around in public do you have any tips for me? And also could you check out my blogs as I’m new and could use some pointers Thankyou x

    Like

    1. Hi Rhiannon!
      I just started blogging a little over 2 years ago, and it’s been great. I just write what I’m passionate about, and what I think might help other people. If you do that, you’ll probably do fine!

      When I read other people’s blogs, I always like to see these three things:
      1)They are courteous,
      2)They are honest with others, but especially with themselves and don’t act like they know everything and are the greatest thing out there, and
      3)They contribute some sort of helpful information that will benefit my own life.

      You look like you’ve got off to a good start with your blog! The post about revision cards (I call them “flash cards”) and using phone apps to review for class tests could certainly be helpful to some people. Just keep writing what’s important to you, and you’ll find that other people in a similar place in life, with similar interests as you, will find and read your blog. I hope all the best for you!

      As for your question about makeup: I think you are saying that you want to learn how to be confident with the way your face naturally looks, am I right? The best way to do that is to practice! Go without makeup, or put only a little on, every day and after awhile you’ll get used to it, and so will everybody else. That’s when you’ll start to feel confident, and will begin to appreciate your natural beauty.

      Makeup can help us feel prettier than we think we are, but that’s just the thing: we don’t think we’re that pretty to begin with, so we use makeup as a sort of “crutch.” One of the ways you can start appreciating your God-given beauty is by going without makeup for awhile, like I already mentioned; but it’s also important to make sure you take really good care of your skin so that it has a nice, healthy glow. People won’t see the mascara, but they’ll see the glow, and I bet they’ll give you lots of nice comments. But even if they don’t, you’ll feel great knowing that you’ve finally been able to accept yourself for yourself. Maybe later on you could start wearing makeup again, but with a new-found appreciation for your natural appearance. I’m guessing that you won’t ever put on quite as much as you did before, though!

      Hope that helps! Feel free to ask more questions, or add your thoughts, if you like!
      Jessica

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thankyou for the tips they will definitely help and Thankyou for taking your time to help me with the makeup thing. I will definitely be giving it a go! Thankyou again for your help x I’ll be looking out for more of your blogs

        Like

Leave a Reply

