Birthing God’s Mighty Warriors: Book Review

Would you say that giving birth to babies is equivalent to preparing God’s next generation of spiritual warriors? Rachel Scott thinks that it is, and expounds upon this idea in her book, Birthing God’s Mighty Warriors. This 356-page book, which can be purchased for several bucks on Amazon, is worth a few days (or weeks, if you read slowly) of your free time. She covers subjects such as the history of birth control use among Christians (Chapter Three, “When Did Birthing Children Become A Choice?”), the possible curse behind some miscarriages (Chapter Nine, “The Devil’s Plan”), and how a man’s seed has the ability to change the outcome of history–and Satan knows it! (Chapter Six, “The Destiny of Your Seed”). I greatly enjoyed reading this book, and would love for all ladies (and their husbands) to read it, too.

You may find a few things you disagree with, as I did; however the points I disagreed with were minor compared to the large body of data that I believe is scripturally solid. We are mostly a sleeping church in the area of family planning, and the Devil has us right where he wants us to be. Yes, I agree with that. We need to wake up, and realize that all our “choices” are robbing us of the huge potential that God had hoped for our lives, but that in the face of our free will, can never be realized.

There is much being said by God’s people today about producing fruit. People seem to be desperate to produce fruit for the Lord and to make their lives count for eternity! One of the biggest desires amongst believers today is to be productive for God. People are desperately trying to figure out what it is that God wants them to do with their lives so that their lives will count for the Lord. People want to produce good fruit for God. When Jesus told His disciples to go and bear fruit that would last (John 15:16), most New Testament believers have been taught that this meant go convert new believers. Surely Jesus did mean that but it also could have meant do this in addition to birthing new believers. All of God’s people back then allowed God to plan their families, so the people to whom this command was spoken were already allowing children to come into their families who could become new converts. It was not until the last century, since birth control use infiltrated God’s people, that believers have dismissed the value of birthing new converts and instead have gone out into the world to seek new converts. What an awesome opportunity is being passed by. We should be doing both things: seeking new converts by preaching the gospel to the world and birthing new converts and raising them in our Godly families. [Page 153]

How true. We have neglected to value the fruit of our own marriages, and because of it, “an awesome opportunity is being passed by.” God’s Kingdom could be advancing at a huge rate if we were to let Him produce children for His army through us; as it is, His Kingdom is advancing, but we ourselves have hindered it through our birth control use, and that makes the enemy very happy! (If an evil person could ever be said to be “happy.”)

We are living in a Tower of Babel age again. We know that God wants to fill the whole earth, but we want to stay put in one place. We know that God’s Name deserves to be exalted above all, but we prefer to make a name for ourselves. So, we set to work on forming the bricks and laying down the mortar. We defy the Almighty and say, “We think the earth is already full, so we shouldn’t have to have more children then we think is reasonable for our situation.” That’s kind of like not wanting to be scattered over the face of the whole earth, isn’t it? Then, we set out to make a tower that will reach to heaven. Not to get to God–don’t be fooled–but to replace Him with ourselves. With our own agendas and selfish plans. We think that because we now have the scientific knowledge to prevent children from being conceived we also have the right to put that knowledge to use for our own misguided purposes. And don’t be naïve: God will let us have our way for awhile before He comes down to put a stop to our prideful wickedness, because He sees that if He doesn’t, nothing that we conceive to do will be withheld from us.

On the other hand, if we are humble in submitting ourselves to the Almighty’s plan for us, if we let God be in charge of our family planning, and raise those children in the “nurture and admonition of the Lord,” there is no end to the great things He will accomplish through us and through our descendants!

30 thoughts on “Birthing God’s Mighty Warriors: Book Review

  1. I read this book last year! It contained a lot that I agreed with, and a lot that I disagreed with (I’m far more conservative than she is, and she seems to have some Pentecostal leanings theologically that I generally disagreed with). But it’s a good read, and perhaps a good wake-up call to those who haven’t considered the subject of family planning before.

    I just re-read Mary Pride’s “The Way Home” and also love what she has to say about the same issue in that book.

    Like

    • How cool! I’m reading “The Way Home” right now, for the first time!

      About Scott’s book: I did notice her Pentecostal leanings, too–for example, she has sample prayers where she recommends we “declare” that we are healed (even though we may not see it in the physical realm…yet), and that we command the devil to leave us alone. I don’t know. Are we supposed to command the devil, or are we supposed to pray to God for His help, and let Him deal with it? And, how are we healed if we can’t see it in actuality? I’m unsure about these things, and will definitely need to think more about them, as I consult the Bible.

      Good to hear from you, Diana! I hope everything is going well with you and your family!
      Jessica

      Like

      • Thanks, Jessica! Right now I’m very, very green. 🙂 Hoping the worst is over, but I’ll be green for a long time. It’s been a long summer! So sorry I haven’t commented on all of your posts – my reading time is very slow at the moment. 🙂

        Like

      • That’s what I suspected! Congratulations, and I hope the best for your health right now. You can get through this–you’ve done it before! So good to hear from you…whenever you have the chance. No worries.
        Jessica

        Like

      • Thanks, Jessica! We see our midwife today, so I’ll probably announce after that on my site. 🙂 Hopefully I’ll be feeling up to more things soon.

        Like

  2. I have ordered copies of both.

    Frankly I don’t think as women we can be “too conservative” on this issue. It is directly against God and his design for us as wives to do anything to reject the gift of life in our womb for any reason at any time.

    Like

  3. Off topic and in regard to your & Diana’s chat: have you seen the movie “The War Room”? I had similar questions when the actress is filmed talking to/commanding Satan. Don’t know much about the Pentecostals, but maybe that movie has their leanings as well.

    Like

    • Yes, I have. I really liked the movie in general. The main point was “never give up on your marriage,” and that was an encouraging message to hear in our culture where so many are advised to divorce if the couple aren’t “happy” and if they feel misunderstood, mistreated, neglected, etc. However, yes, I did feel strange about the scene where the actress commands Satan to leave her alone. I thought, “Is that how we’re supposed to do it?” I don’t know; it’s just a point that’s not clear to me right now.
      Thanks for bringing that up, Ruthie!
      Jessica

      Like

  4. Yes I have been around Pentecostal & Charismatic Christianity 47 plus years! I was origionally Cathloc but went to a private Christian school for four years(7th-10th grades)! The kids were mostly Protestant but those four years were “HELL”! Most of these kids were either cold & indifferent or hostile towards God/Bible/church & Christianity in general & many did not go to church! I was constantly bullied & the teachers did not care! The teachers were to me a “lukewarm bucket of spit”! I found out later that during the coarse of the twentieth century that Protestant Christianity was declining especially in the Western First World but the Pentecostal/Charismatic aspects have exceedingly grown especially in Latin America ! I have heard of that movie but I have not seen it! However “SOMETHING EVIL IS TAMPERING WITH THE HUMAN GENE-POOL”! The white European race(Japeth) is aging & dying out! If all women of child bearing age of European origin were to start having umteen kids, it will not stop the massive dying off! The Orientals are next & will also decrease dramatically in this 21st century! Hispanics back 40 plus years ago were having big families but now have only 2-3 kids!(I have lived with the Cuban exile community all of my life & semi-literate with Spanish)! Other races(red/brown/mixed) are slowing down to remain stable in percentage! However the black race especially in Africa is “exceedingly super-exploding” by 2060 35% will be black, 25% will be black Africa! Islam is becoming a predominately black religion & will overtake the Arabs! Only 8 % white European & an ever-aging & dying population! Even within the black population the dark & darkest skinned blacks have the the largest numbers of kids! Brown & light skinned blacks definately have fewer kids! Also there is this thing in the black community going on called “COLORISM”! Dark & darkest skinned blacks are showing their hostility towards the medium brown skinned & lighter skinned blacks especially the women more so than the men! Also a peculuar situation with black births(THE EXCEEDINGLY HIGH NUMBER OF GIRLS & LARGE ALL GIRL FAMILIES)! When I was a teenager it was boys/boys/boys & more boys! The sex ratios evil is also tampering with! As a teen living with a girl shortage as a boy was a big shock to me & I was scratching my head wondering where the girls were!Also mostly boys coming into the church & my mouth dropped in shock & white families all boy or mostly boy!!!!!! Hmmm something evil is really going on with the human gene-pool! BTW black Africa is now the “Fourth World” down from the Third World in the last 50-60 years! Illiteracy as high as 83% & computer possession one out of 4-5000!Black Africa is so dangerous no one travels there & there is no infrastructure! I can go on but I will let you respond, more info later!

    Like

    • Hi, Ronnie! I’m not sure if you were directing your comment to anyone in particular, but I thought I’d answer since I got the thread off track. Sorry, Jessica. I have seen the movie a couple of times and although I didn’t agree with the aspect of talking to or commanding the devil, the movie on the whole encouraged me in my walk. It showed me the power of prayer and the consistency I needed to have in my personal devotions with the Lord. It also dealt with conflict in a marital situation and how the Lord can change hearts.
      As far as skin color goes, I believe the Lord loves us all, regardless of our skin color. I’m not exactly sure of where you were going with that. The Lord himself was of Jewish descent, and someone correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t that a darker shade than white? I’m a white woman married to a white man. Years ago, I’ve heard stories within my family where you could be excommunicated for marrying outside your ethnicity. (German marrying an Irish) They believed you were unequally yoked. Today, I have cousins that I believe the Lord brought together, one white marrying a black, one white marrying a Chinese Peruvian. I also believe that they have faced some challenges as couples because of perhaps different customs of their individual families, but I know they love the Lord and want to serve Him.
      I think it’s kind of humorous what the Lord sees fit to give each of us by way of girls and boys. I come from a family of 6 girls and 1 boy. My husband’s family had 4 boys and 1 girl. We had together 5 boys and 1 girl 🙂 I like to think God has a sense of humor when He gifts us with our children, especially when it wasn’t what we thought we were going to have 🙂
      I also apologize if any offense was taken about your Pentecostal faith. I honestly don’t know much other than some believe in faith healing. Please accept my sincerest apology. -Ruthie

      Like

      • Ruthie my mother was a devout Cathloc & sent me & my younger brothers to a Cathloc school(Blessed Trinity Cathloc School) & only 2-3 blocks away from home In sixth grade I was the most popular kid in class! Ruthie my mother went to nurseing school & met a Pentecostal woman who witnessed to her! I was in this church 5 years! I wish I could have had quiverfull young Christian girls during my Christian youth! Not seeing too many Christian weddings was a travisty of my youth! I saw & heard of much divorce in my youth, very sad indeed!

        Like

    • Hi, Ronnie!
      Yes, I agree that sometimes professing Christians can be hypocritical and cold, even though they shouldn’t be. Good thing that isn’t ALWAYS the case! And I wouldn’t want to point fingers at any one denomination in particular, since I know that this (hypocrisy) is a tendency we ALL are capable of falling into, if we’re not careful. So, I’d rather not focus too much on the denomination (meaning, the PEOPLE) as a whole, but rather on what specific BELIEFS I don’t think line up with Scripture, or that I am at least unsure about, for now.

      Your comments about genetic tampering were interesting! I do think that it is a possibility that God is choosing to give Christian families who are open to however many children He gives them, more girls than boys as a way to make up for all the baby girls who are being selected for abortions based on their gender. I think God is trying to balance things out.

      And yet, I don’t know that the Bible predicts anything about the dominance of any one color of people during the end times. There is talk in the Bible about believers and non-believers, Jews and Gentiles, those who receive the Antichrist’s mark, and those who don’t; but, it isn’t clear to me how the different COLORS and nationalities of people make any difference when related to end-time events. I wonder if you could clarify?

      Perhaps I should also add, that I don’t believe in the existence of “races”: I think there is only one race, and that is the HUMAN race. We all descend from Adam and Eve, and God created our genes to have a lot of diversity. Some even speculate whether Adam and Eve may not have been dark-skinned themselves! It appears that light skin and blue eyes may actually be the result of genetic mutations, while dark skin and eyes may represent healthier genes. At any rate, I think the main point we should be focusing on is how we can draw more people into the Kingdom of God, which is a spiritual Kingdom on earth at present, but will later be converted into the physical, earth-wide rule of Jesus Christ for a thousand years, and then afterwards, for eternity. As I highlight in my article (and as the author of the book sets forth), not only should we care about converting people into this Kingdom, we should also care about BIRTHING children who will later be taught by us to believe in Jesus and live for Him.

      Thanks so much for your comment, Ronnie!
      Jessica

      Like

      • Some years back I came across a book online by a man Arthur Custance(1910-85)! He was an English man who in 1930 came to Canada to study agraculture in 1929 but the depression stopped the finances! He was witnessed to on campus by Christians & he became a Christian & started to research the three sons of Noah & the roles they played in human history! His work started in 1938 & by 1953 he had the bulk of his research done! It was not til 1970 that he tried to publish his findings but various publishers though his writings were”racist”, however Zondervan published his book! Atrhur Custance was also an inventor & was a Bible teacher! Check out his book PDF online,The Three Sons Of Noah & The Roles They Played In Human History! Ham-father of the black/brown/red/yellow coloured races(physical)! Shem-father of the brunette/tawny Medeteranean Asiatic whites(spiritual-the Jews)! Japeth-father of the light/ruddy whites(Europeans-the mind-illumination)! Listen for 2000 years the Jews were Gods golden people & JC came through the Jews “but His own received Him not” so the torch of the spiritual passed to Japeth & has been 2000 years but soon the torch of the spiritual will pass back to Shem when the Jews come to accept JC as Yeshua/Messiah right before He comes back! Ruthie in the Americas before the Indians there were here there were black pygmies, Melanesian & Abroginies of the black race! Little black pygmies were some of the first peoples in many areas after the tower of Babel ! Just wanted to let you know! This goes back over 5000 years ago!

        Like

      • Ruthie another person of interest is Barry Setterfield! He is an Christian Australian geoligist who now lives in Oregon! Ruthie I found out some years back that the Masorhetic 4000 B.C. timeline is not the origional timeline but the Septugent timeline going back to 6000 B.C. The 4000 B.C. timeline puts the flood of Noah at 2348 B.C. & the birth of Abraham at 1996 B.C. only 352 years-hmmmm, I always had a problem with that short time! However the Septugent timeline puts the flood at 3554 B.C., the tower of Babel 3182 B.C., the super-continent Pangea breaking up 3023 B.C. & the birth of Abraham 2322 B.C. 1232 years instead of 352 years after the flood of Noah! BTW according to Setterfield the 7 present continents took 200 plus years of moving into their present positions about 2800 B.C. In Custance book he talked about a black/negro presence in the Americas besides the American Indians & it was news to me! However 5000 years ago both North & South America were attached to Africa & after the dispersion at Babel Pygmies went into Africa & crossed over into what would be North America of what is the south & Florida, while Melanesians & Australian Abroginie types crossed from Africa into South America into what is now eastern & northeastern Brazil! When North America settled to what it is now about 2800 B. C., the Indians came over from Siberia into Alaska & within 100 years were into the Pacific northwest of Washington & Oregon! There were 3 waves of migration with the first being the biggest! BTW in Siberia there are the “Ket people” indians that stayed in Siberia speaking an archaic American Indian language,numbering 1200 in total population! The Cherokee Indians in their oral tradition talk about meeting the Etene folk, these little black pygmies & their skeletons have been found in Florida & other areas of the southern states! According to Custance the American Indian was in China but went into Mongolia & then into Siberia & then crossing over into America! Ruthie I can talk more about early human migrations but will stop now! BTW North America 5000 years ago was all tropical including Alaska but during those 200 years became mostly temperate 4 seasonal to sub-artic & sub-polar! Fossilized trees & plants in Alaska show this!

        Like

  5. I agree with your post. Dont know the books though. What a great calling to raise our children for God. I enjoy a quarterly publication that is very encoiraging on the topic of being a mom and on fullfilling a purpose at home: Its called ‘Keepers At Home’by Grace Preß, sugarcreek Ohio. I love it. Its Amish so not many pictures, but it sure has ‘meat on the bone. 😚

    Like

    • Ruthie yes I beleive God likes “variety”, but it is satan who wants to destroy this diversity! Satan wants all humans with only a 60 I.Q.(mentally retarded) with no imagination, no visioning, no dreaming, no inventiveness, no learning, no creativity! Through Christianity the common man eventually learned how to read & write! Now evil wants no more education/knowledge/wisdom/literacy! I always bring up to atheist how Christianity opened up literacy, now evil wants all to be illiterate like the medevil serfs & peasants were 1200 years ago

      Like

      • Thankyou for all these posts, Ronnie! I think it will take me some time to digest all this info, though 🙂 much appreciated! – Ruthie

        Like

      • Ruthie the period of time from the flood of Noah to the breaking up of the super-continent Pangea was what I refer to as the B.C. post-flood “short dispensation”!(3554-3023 B.C.) & for many years of what is said in Revelation about satan being released for a “short time” after the Millenium, because I found no anwser how long that short period will be but I beleive I know now,but I will explain this future time later! Ruthie from the flood til Abraham, salt water from 30-40 miles underground sprung up into the Panthalis Ocean(which is now the Pacific Ocean)! This ocean was freshwater with warm currents & less than half the volume of the present oceans! It took 1000-1200 years for the salinazation of the water & development of cold ocean currents! This more than doubleing the size of the ocean from less than a third to more than two-thirds(over 70%) water today!! BTW the seven continents were some of the highest land on Pangea before the flood! The Garden of Eden was right in the middle of Pangea & the Garden of Eden was the highest land on all of Pangea(God’s penthouse on earth)! What is now Jerusalem was the center of Pangea back 6000 plus years ago in the garden most likely at the equator in the now present Indian Ocean! However I see during the Millenium the oceans will reverse & shrink back to the origional Pantalis Ocean& a desalinazation process back to fresh water & the elimination of cold ocean currents to only warm ocean currents! I will stop for now,more info later!!!!!!

        Like

      • That is intriguing! I read your whole comment, and I have to say that I’d never heard some of that before. The part about Pangea, yes; but everything else, no.
        Thanks for the info, Ronnie!
        Jessica

        Like

      • Ruthie the Bible says to seek after wisdom because it will put a crown of “glory & honour” (power & authourity) on your head! Ruthie JC came to earth the first time as a man 6000 years instead of 4000 years after Adam & now I know why He was born in that manger in Bethlehem with the sheep! In addition to being the “Lamb of God” who took the sins of the world being born in a barn with other sheep that were used for the sacrifices The ultinate Lamb to pay the final price for our sins! That is why we do no animal sacrifices in Christianity! However that site was what I now feel 6000 years earlier, God created Adam & Is Jesus Christ called the “second Adam”? Ruthie Adam was created there 6000 years earlier & JC was born there 6000 years later! The “First” & Second” Adams & Bethelem was where shepherds raised lambs for the animal sacrifices at the temple in Jerusalem! Remember I told you about the torch of the spiritual passing to the gentiles(Japeth) from Shem back 2000 years ago because the Jews as a nation did not accept JC as Yeshua/Messiah but soon the Jews will & that is when JC comes back to rule from Jerusalem for the Millenium! The Jews are going to become the first 100% born-again nation of folk, something they should have done 2000 years ago but did not do it but soon will do & this will bring JC back! I can go on but I will stop for now !

        Like

      • Yes, I also understand the Bible to be saying that there will come a time when ALL Israel will be saved (according to the book of Romans). I don’t subscribe to replacement theology at all.

        The dates you give are interesting. I don’t know too much about that part, but I do COMPLETELY agree that Jesus is the Lamb of God and was born in a sort of barn/cave and placed in a manger, where the lambs for the daily sacrifice may have been held. God is perfect in how He fits everything together, isn’t He?
        Jessica

        Like

  6. Ronnie, God looks at the heart not at the skincolor! Please dont be afraid of any scenario for the future. Remember that God is in control. Before us lays an eternity rejoycing in Jesus presence together with brothers and sisters of all nations

    Like

  7. It sounds like an interesting book! Many interesting thoughts expressed here. Regarding talking to Satan, I believe that the example of Christ is what we should follow here. When Satan tempted Him directly, His answer was “it is written”. We have no power in ourselves to overcome spiritual forces of evil, except through the Word of God, which is powerful. Christ Himself is the Word Of God and has power to command the unclean spirits. I believe that in the name of Jesus we can ask for deliverance from evil spirits. We must be careful not to be like the man in Acts who was attempting to call evil spirits out of someone and they ended up jumping on him. But Christ has promised that those He sets free are free indeed! The Bible also says to “submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you.” James 4:7. So, as we are dependent upon Christ for strength, the Devil will flee from us. I believe there is a fine line between faith and presumption. In the Word of God there is safety.

    Concerning healing, there are three ways that God heals. First is supernatural, as Christ gave many examples of in His ministry. Second is through use of natural remedies (when Christ put clay on the blind man’s eyes and told him to go wash). Third is in the resurrection. All will be given a new body at that time. God only knows how His kingdom can be advanced in each case under consideration. As we trust in Him He will give us strength and help in every situation and peace.

    God be with you all today!

    Like

    • You’ve really given me something to ponder, Celina! Yes, it does make sense that we should follow Christ’s example, and respond to spiritual attacks by saying, “It is written,” along with prayer and resisting, or fleeing, from the temptation, if necessary. I also think your points about healing make a lot of sense, too.
      Thanks,
      Jessica

      Like

Leave a Reply

