More Modesty Tips

20160219_144207

The following was submitted by a reader who’s been wearing skirts-and-dresses-only for the past twelve years! Here are some things she’s learned from her experiences:

Just a few things as points of principle.

Stop thinking of a skirt or dress as “special occasion” wear.

Dresses are much easier – especially when you are pregnant.

Wear the right underwear, especially buy a few slips and wear a full slip under a skirt / top as it avoids showing your middle if you stretch up.

Knee length is too short if you actually want to do anything. Longer, fuller skirts are just easier, more comfortable, and easier to stay modest.

Wear opaque tights UK (pantyhose US) or leggings if you are doing stuff where you are conscious of modesty (toddler on floor, etc.).

Learn to smooth your skirt over your bottom when you sit down and remember to sit with your legs together or crossed.

Discuss your modesty guidelines with your husband (men have a better perspective on some issues) and if he’s very conservative (like my husband) make a conscious point of exceeding them slightly rather than pushing it.

Secondly wear clothes you know your husband likes and that you feel good in. There is no sin in looking and feeling pretty!

Finally remember, you can do pretty much anything in a skirt / dress (women did far more than we have to for centuries). But it’s not a competition and if you don’t feel confident doing something, then leave it to the men!

7 thoughts on “More Modesty Tips

  1. Love these tips! So feminine and lady like:-) I had asked the Lord to give me some encouragement in the wearing of my dresses/skirts because I’ve been feeling down and very frumpy to the point of ditching it altogether. So, I’m very thankful for this post, Jessica. It reminds me I’m not alone in my desire to dress modestly. Many blessings, Ruthie

    Like

    • Wonderful! I need those encouragements too, sometimes.
      And I’d like to add, that often, I’ve seen women trying to look their best in pants, and I’ve thought, “Why doesn’t she just wear a nice-fitting skirt? It would make her look a ton better, not just by making her look more feminine, but because it would improve her overall appearance.” Speaking for myself: now that I’ve had six children, my body isn’t what it used to be; I think skirts and dresses help hide the uncomfortable truths about my lumpy body that I’d rather not expose to the world. Sometimes I’m tempted to feel frumpy, too; but then I think: “No. This is not frumpy. This is soft, and feminine, and modest. This is what other women are missing out on.” And when I look at pictures of myself wearing skirts, I like the way I look, so that’s another encouragement to keep going.
      Thanks so much for your continued support and friendship, Ruthie! I really mean it!
      Jessica

      Like

  2. Three further thoughts !

    Discuss your modesty guidelines with your husband (men have a better perspective on some issues) and if he’s (like my husband very conservative) make a conscious point of exceeding them slightly rather than pushing it.

    Secondly wear clothes you know your husband likes and that you feel good in. There is no sin in looking and feeling pretty !

    Finally remember, you can do pretty much anything in a skirt / dress (women did far more than we have to for centuries). But it’s not a competition and if you don’t feel confident doing something, then leave it to the men !

    Like

    • Yes, I agree! We can be creative in finding ways to make skirt-wearing work out; but, we don’t have to do everything that men do, or even everything that everybody else does–at least not in the exact same way they do it.
      Thanks, Joyce!
      Jessica

      Like

Leave a Reply

