Blogging

In Which I Meet One of my Favorite Bloggers!

I’ve been blogging for about a year now, and since then, a whole new world has opened up to me that I hadn’t known before! I don’t do Facebook, or any other sort of social media, so blogging was my very first experience in online socializing.  And it’s been a positive one: I love it! It’s an outlet for me, a chance to organize my thoughts and share them with others. And since I write better than I speak, I am able to feel more satisfaction in my ability to communicate than I usually do, since my attempts at sharing my ideas verbally are sometimes…clumsy.

Blogging has also been an opportunity to know what other people are writing about. When I get a comment from someone else who also has a blog, I usually check out their’s, too. That’s how I’ve been introduced to some really great sites!

Today, I am thrilled to share with you my recent experience in meeting–face-to-face–one of my favorite bloggers! This is a first for me, and I am so excited to tell you about it.

Our Family!

This is Diana, and her beautiful family. She is a dresses/skirts only, headcovering lady. Her blog is Trust and Obey, containing A LOT of information for those interested in home education; pregnancy issues, including hyperemesis gravidarum; posts related to the life of a Christian family wanting to follow God in EVERY area; and including many helpful links to other really awesome websites. I encourage you to check out her site.

She was even better in real life than online!

Diana was warm-hearted, gracious, and friendly. I noted that she managed her words wisely and kindly, and I very much admired her composure.

I am so in awe of how much Diana knows about homeschooling, home birth, and a host of other topics. We talked about a variety of different subjects, and she showed herself to be knowledgeable in many areas. I wish we had had more time to talk, since I really enjoyed our conversation. I feel that I can learn a lot from her.

Her children were sweet, polite, and well-behaved. Her oldest son impressed me with his imaginativeness and his love for acting out history while playing.

Her husband was friendly, outgoing, and very helpful with their children. I loved seeing the way he cared for his family.

We had such a nice time together; it was worth it! Thank you, Diana, for meeting with me; I am so thankful that we had the chance!

So, this was a new experience for me related to blogging. But, even though we tend to think of online activities as separate from real life, the 2-dimensional version we see of their lives (since we’re looking at a computer screen, and not seeing them face-to-face) can often be an accurate reflection of their true selves. This may not always be true, but in Diana’s case, yes, I believe it was refreshingly the case.

 

4 thoughts on “In Which I Meet One of my Favorite Bloggers!

  1. Wow! I am so glad that you could meet Diana and her family. Thank you for your description about her family, which warmed my heart. May God bless Diana and her family abundantly. from Kinuko

    Like

  2. Beautiful photo so calm and peaceful! How nice to know you could meet your fellow sister Diana in His time.

    Many christians are so worry about bad influence from internet(it’s true),but on the other hand,through this we can also know our fellow all over the world.

    Everytime I see the photos of headcovering sisters,I notice their calm,modest,plain spirit. It is one of most difficult one we can find in modern society,is it?

    May God bless you and Diana for His glory!

    Like

  3. Ah, Jessica – I’m blushing. You are really too sweet! Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely getting to meet with your wonderful family, and I look forward to seeing you all soon. 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re welcome!
      I realize that it isn’t possible to know everything there is to know about another person in the space of just three hours; however, I feel that my impression of you and your family was accurate, and I said what I did sincerely.
      We all look forward to seeing you all again, too!
      Jessica

      Like

Leave a comment