Tricky Topics in the Bible

Impossible to be Renewed Again to Repentance After Falling Away?

I’m continuing to look into the issue of whether or not we can lose our salvation. My opinion has been that we can not, once we have come to  GENUINELY believe in Jesus Christ, repent of our sins, ask His forgiveness, and make the decision to receive Him as Lord and Savior of our lives. However, this seems to be contradicted by some Scriptures. My goal is to look honestly at all of the portions of Scripture relating to this topic, so that I can come to a biblical conclusion. This is a long-term pursuit, since I am also at the same time looking into other topics. However, as I come across explanations that make sense to me, I want to publish them on this site, so we can continue this very important conversation.

Recently, I watched this video from No Greater Joy, a website I discovered not too long ago, and I thought this explanation of Hebrews 6:4-6 sounded very logical. Below the YouTube video, you can read the passage being talked about for yourself. It really is intriguing!

Hebrews 5:12-6:9

12 For when for the time ye ought to be teachers, ye have need that one teach you again which be the first principles of the oracles of God; and are become such as have need of milk, and not of strong meat.

13 For every one that useth milk is unskilful in the word of righteousness: for he is a babe.

14 But strong meat belongeth to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.

CHAPTER 6, verse 1 Therefore leaving the principles of the doctrine of Christ, let us go on unto perfection; not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works, and of faith toward God,

Of the doctrine of baptisms, and of laying on of hands, and of resurrection of the dead, and of eternal judgment.

And this will we do, if God permit.

For it is impossible for those who were once enlightened, and have tasted of the heavenly gift, and were made partakers of the Holy Ghost,

And have tasted the good word of God, and the powers of the world to come,

If they shall fall away, to renew them again unto repentance; seeing they crucify to themselves the Son of God afresh, and put him to an open shame.

For the earth which drinketh in the rain that cometh oft upon it, and bringeth forth herbs meet for them by whom it is dressed, receiveth blessing from God:

But that which beareth thorns and briers is rejected, and is nigh unto cursing; whose end is to be burned.

But, beloved, we are persuaded better things of you, and things that accompany salvation, though we thus speak.

4 thoughts on “Impossible to be Renewed Again to Repentance After Falling Away?

  1. Dear Jessica,
    Thank you for sharing us your “process” of your spiritual journey. It is so encouraging to see that you are truly open to His truth, which I am eager to learn from you. Thanks to you, now I can be more honest to my own unsettled issues (including this very issue) in front of Him and in front of others.

    I watched the youtube, but to be honest, I could not grasp it very well. I think I should watch it again!! Thank you, Jessica.

    from Kinuko

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you, Kinuko, that it is encouraging to be able to talk with others about issues such as this. There is a sense of satisfaction that comes from knowing we can be honest about our spiritual journey with others that we trust.

      I was already thinking, even before you mentioned it, that I want to give a commentary about the YouTube video myself. I think I’ll do that in the next post. Thanks for letting me know!
      Jessica

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Last Sunday our preacher talked about how we act like spiritual children and slaves. I also remembered the parable of wheat and weeds.
    Unfortunately immature Christians can be indistinguishable from weeds. I believe that you cannot lose salvation

    In Christ,

    Irina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that’s an insightful observation that you made, Irina, about immature Christians being indistinguishable from weeds. I hadn’t thought about that before in quite that way, but now you mention it, yes, it does seem to be true.
      So, perhaps the immature Christians act in an unwise and ungodly way because they are still “baby” Christians, and haven’t reached maturity yet; while the “weeds” (non-Christians posing as Christians) act in an unwise and ungodly way because they aren’t true Christians and never were. In that case, the baby Christians, though certainly living in disobedience (as children and slaves) are still saved; the weeds are living in disobedience because they never were saved. But, it can be hard to tell the difference. Makes sense to me.
      Thanks so much!
      Jessica

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

